Advice and answers from the Autofy Team

With any sync app it can be hard to know how it decides to sync certain records. Autofy syncs exactly what you tell it to, and it decides how to do this using the following:

  • The Channels you have connected on the Channels page
  • The Workflows you have set up for the Channels you use
  • The objects you selected in each Workflow
  • The last modified (or created) time for each record within an object
  • Any filters or special logic you or the Autofy team may have implemented

For a given object, we want to avoid syncing every record of that object on each sync. Imagine Autofy syncing every customer in your list, every 30 minutes - you would quickly become frustrated (which we want to avoid!). That's why one of the core filters Autofy uses is the last modified time.  This lets Autofy incrementally sync data since the last sync run.

What about migrating all my old data?

Autofy isn't designed for, or intended to handle mass migrations of old data.  There are lots of tools and consultants out there to help with this one time activity.  For example, QuickBooks provides options to export its data, so that you can import it to another system.  

Whether you choose to migrate old data or not, Autofy can sync new and updated records just the same.

So what does Autofy sync?

When you get started with Autofy, it starts looking at your selected data in terms of the start time, which later tracks forward as your last sync time.  

Transactions or records created before this will be left alone by Autofy. This is to prevent Autofy from trying to do a migration of all data from one system to another, which can take lots of time and create potential issues.

Transactions or records created or modified after this will be synced.  Autofy compares the last sync time to a records created and modified times to determine what to sync.  If the last modified time is after the last Autofy sync time, then Autofy will sync it.

Did this answer your question?